Monday, October 16, 2017

Site Search

Principal of the Year


2017 Principal of the Year Information

Criteria and Selection Process | Principal Nomination Form | Assistant Principal Nomination Form
The Horace Mann Companies

Principal Winners by Year

2016 Principals of the Year

Elementary Principal of the Year


Davin Harpe, Sugar Grove Elementary School, Greenwood

Davin is the Principal at Sugar Grove Elementary in Greenwood. He has previously held the Principal position at Parkside Elementary in the Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation, South Creek Elementary in the Franklin Township Community School Corporation and Cardinal Elementary in the Brownsburg Community School Corporation. He is a graduate of Indiana University, Ball State University and Purdue University. At Sugar Grove, he was charged with overseeing a corporation-wide redistricting effort. His work with students, their families and the schools involved was instrumental in the success of the large-scale change. He is also proud of the fact that each of the schools he has worked at has seen growth during his time at the school. Through PLCs, he helped bring one school a 4-Star rating, helped another that failed AYP achieve an “A” rating, and Sugar Grove recently posted the highest percentage of passing scores for both English/Language Arts and Math of any school in Johnson County, elementary or secondary, public or private.

Middle School Principal of the Year


Nathan Boyd, Virgil I. Grissom Middle School, Mishawaka

Nathan is a graduate of Ball State University, where he earned his Bachelor’s degree. He went on to earn his Master’s from Indiana University South Bend and is currently continuing his education at Purdue University. After serving as Assistant Principal and Principal at LaSalle Intermediate Academy in South Bend, he became the Principal at Virgil I. Grissom Middle School in Mishawaka. He has worked to create a “Club Honors” program which provides a game room for students to enjoy, with VIP eligibility based on academic honor roll status. In an effort to make this program available to all students, free tutoring is available to all students and the school district is providing free transportation for students that take advantage of this opportunity. He has also started a Drum Brigade to involve students who were not actively engaged in the school experience. Students receive academic help while building a sense of school belonging, developing confidence within their abilities and working with a team. In addition, students also learn to play percussion instruments, read music and perform with a group.

High School Principal of the Year


David Maugel, NorthWood High School, Nappanee

David is the Principal at NorthWood HS in Nappanee, where he has been for the past 10 years. He begin his administrative career at Churubusco HS after teaching for 10 years at Central Noble HS. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from Goshen College and went on to earn his Master’s from Indiana Purdue Fort Wayne. During his time at NorthWood he worked to develop and grow Professional Learning Communities to help staff growth. He initiated a book study of “Professional Learning Communities at Work”, where teachers had periodic meetings throughout the school year to discuss. This study led to the implementation of the PLCs at the school. He has also worked to expand his school’s reach to the community and has even worked with local government chairs to establish a Legislative Body Youth Advisor, who will serve on the Nappanee City Council as a non-voting member.

Assistant Principal of the Year 


Amber Schroering, Brownsburg East Middle School, Brownsburg

Amber is a graduate of the University of Evansville, where she earned a Bachelor’s degree. She later went on to earn a Master’s from Ball State University. Her administrative career began as the Director of the Pacesetter Alternative High School in Noblesville, where she spent a few months before being named the Assistant Principal at Brownsburg East Middle School in 2007. During her time in Brownsburg, she has guided PLCs to utilize specific student data to drive instructional change, implemented RTI and PBIS programs, created a staff appreciation plan and executed a school-wide behavior management plan. She was also instrumental in guiding the school through a transitional period when the Principal left the building and an interim Principal was assigned.