2017 Spell Bowl Invitational Contests

Many schools and academic leagues host Spell Bowl Invitationals in order to help schools prepare for
the Area Competition. Most of these contests use competition word lists created by the host, although
Senior invitational hosts have an option to purchase one of two competition packets from IASP.

Senior Division teams may attend only 1 invitational using IASP List A words
and only 1 invitational using IASP List B words,
but may attend an unlimited number of Independent Invitationals.
Please note which IASP List a host site is using.

If you are interested in attending one of the "open" Invitationals, contact the host directly. If you are hosting an invitational contest, and would like it listed here, send the necessary information via email to dabel@iasp.org.

This list was updated October 5, 2017

Click here to return to the Spell Bowl Page

Level Date Host school School Address City State Zip Which List Open Closed Coordinator Coordinator email Notes
Junior Oct. 11 Martinsville Middle School 109 East Garfield Street Martinsville, IN 46151
Open Rochelle Racy, Tiffany Grant rochelle.racy@msdmartinsville.org; tiffany.grant@msdmartinsville.org 6pm Start, $25 per team. Schools may enter multiple teams. Entry deadline October 6.
Junior October 2 Willowcreek Middle School 5962 Central Avenue Portage, IN 46368 Independent Open Grace Hilsmier grace.hilsmier@portage.k12.in.us 6 PM CST, $25 entry fee
Senior October 17 Benton Central High School 4241 East 300 South Oxford, IN 47971 Independent list Open Katheryn Pratt kpratt@benton.k12.in.us 6 pm; $50
Senior October 11 Cascade High School 6565 South County Road 200 West Clayton, IN 46118 Independent Open Marcia Bright mbright@mccsc.k12.in.us 6:30 p.m.
Senior Sept. 27 Danville Community HS 100 Warrior Way Danville, IN 46122 IASP List A Closed Kelsey Long klong@danville.k12.in.us
Senior October 9 Danville Community HS 100 Warrior Way Danville, IN 46122 IASP List B Closed Kelsey Long klong@danville.k12.in.us
Senior September 28 Delta High School 3400 East State Road 28 Muncie, IN 47303 IASP List A Closed Dawn Raleigh draleigh@delcomschools.org Hoosier Heritage Conference
Senior October 18 East Noble High School 901 South Garden Street Kendalville, IN 46755 IASP List A Open Kelsey Mapes kemapes@eastnoble.net
Senior October 10 Franklin Community High School 2600 Cumberland Drive Franklin, IN 46131 IASP List A
Angela Koontz koontza@franklinschools.org
Senior October 17 Homestead High School 4310 Homestead Rd. Fort Wayne, IN 46814 Independent Open Jeff Stumpf jstumpf@sacs.k12.in.us
Senior October 2 Kouts High School 302 E. College Kouts, IN 46347 Independent Open Evelyn Ames evelyn.ames@eastporter.k12.in.us 5 PM CST, $50
Senior October 23 Kouts High School 302 E. College Kouts, IN 46347 Independent Open Evelyn Ames evelyn.ames@eastporter.k12.in.us 5 PM CST; $50
Senior October 23 Leo Jr/Sr HS 14600 Amstutz Road Leo, IN 46765 IASP List B Closed Robert Tonkel rtonkel@eacs.k12.in.us NE8 Conference
Senior October 25 Logansport HS 1 Berry Lane Logansport, IN 46947 Independent Open Lorese Sharp sharpl@lcsc.k12.in.us 6 p.m.; $50 entry
Senior October 2 Lutheran High School 5555 S. Arlington Ave. Indianapolis, IN 46237 IASP List B Closed Jeff Steinbronn jsteinbronn@lhsi.org
Senior September 20 Marion High School 750 W. 26th St. Marion, IN 46953 IASP List A Open Kristi Phillippe kphillippe@marion.k12.in.us
Senior Oct. 19 McCutcheon High School 4951 US Highway 231 Lafayette, IN 47909 Independent Open Cindy Aubuchon caubuchon@tsc.k12.in.us $40; 6 p.m.
Senior Oct 3 Merrillville High School 276 East 68th Place Merrillville, IN 46410 IASP List B Closed Marjorie Brewer dacexecsec@gmail.com Duneland Academic Conference
Senior October 3 North Knox Jr/Sr High School 10890 North State Road 159 Bicknell, IN 47512 IASP List B Closed Angela Holscher aholsche@nknox.k12.in.us
Senior October 12 NorthWood High School 2101 N. Main Street Napanee, IN 46550 IASP List B Closed Karen Renner krenner@wanee.org
Senior October 4 Tri-Central High School 2115 W CR 500 N Sharpsville, IN 46068 IASP List B Open Heather Holman hholman@tccs.k12.in.us